New Mum on the Blog

Sharing is Caring! Experiences, insights, advice and tips from one mum to another

Quick Solution to the Infamous Mum Hair

on August 9, 2012

Do you wake up in the mornings and say to yourself, “Today’s the day I am going to have a shower, shave my legs, and maybe even wash my hair!’ Well we’ve all been there as moms. Before having a baby I didn’t realize these are just some of the simple luxuries after baby! If you’re anything like me, I try to squeeze in a little me-time during babies morning nap, along with having breakfast, cleaning the kitchen, sorting the laundry, making the bed, and anything else I can get done on my to-do list. I thought I would share a little insight into the different ways I try to keep up with myself and my appearance even if I’m going to be home all day. Let’s face it, some days it’s just nice to feel a little more put together then the usual sweats, t-shirt and hair in a messy bun, you know, the mom look.

One thing I swear by and is worth the small investment is dry shampoo. For the days I limit my shower time to 5 minutes and have to choose between washing my hair and shaving my legs, this is one product I can count on! Dry shampoo is a way to refresh your hair without having to wash and dry it if you had to skip a day. Simply spray the powder on your hair and it absorbs the oils on your hair and scalp, then brush it out. The one I use is by Beyond the Zone and it’s called ‘Rock On, Dry Shampoo,’ I picked up at Sally Beauty Supply for about $8.

If you’re looking for a more ‘economical’ quick fix that you probably have in your house now, baby powder also does the trick. I find it tends to work better with blonde hair but it can work with brunettes as well, you just have to be a bit more careful with how much you apply.  Just shake a bit on the roots and brush it out with a soft bristle brush, and voila! Your 3 day old hair now looks totally refreshed and even adds a bit of volume to the roots for the just style dried hair look. So give it a try and let me know what you think of this tip!

-M

Leave a Reply

Entertain Kids On A Dime

CHEAP FUN IN THE GTA

The Robert Munsch Public School Blog

Inspiring learning in the early years.

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Motherhood, WTF?

I'm the mom who makes you feel better about your parenting.

INTO MIND

personal style, minimalism & the perfect wardrobe

Life With a Baby Blog

Real Parents, Real Challenges, Real Help

Almost Thirty-Something

Millennial. Blogger. Happy soul.

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

loving hearts, rough starts

for parents who had a rough start: share, support, validate and inspire

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

Grit & Honey

Women clothed in strength. Your story isn't over yet.

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Wine & Whines

Juggling it all

Stephania Parent

SUPER SOUL SUCCESS

Then there were 4

Keeping in touch with the Brownes

