New Mum on the Blog

Sharing is Caring! Experiences, insights, advice and tips from one mum to another

Sleep, anyone?

on August 10, 2012

Well it’s been an interesting week! Yesterday Aud and I went down to a taping of CityLine! It was lot’s of fun and a busy morning! It will air on Wednesday August 15th on City Tv at 9 a.m. and 4 p.m. tune in as I will be asking Nanny Robina a question about my 10 month olds sleeping issues.

A couple weeks ago we had the pleasure of meeting Nanny Robina!! The UK/Canadian Super Nanny of sorts. She is a very bubbly and outgoing person so obviously we clicked (bubbly is a keyword in describing myself, notice the exclamation marks at the end of most sentences!). We talked about food, life, and Aud of course. I had explained to her that I was having some real trouble getting her into a good sleep schedule- you know what I’m talking about right? Sleep? That thing before we had children where we got to lay on a comfy bed, close our eyes and forget about reality for at least 7 hours? After explaining that baby girl currently was getting up 4-6 times a night, (yes, that means I wasn’t getting more then an hour of sleep at a time) I could see the sympathetic look in her eyes and thought “Thank God she’s going to help me!”

After some much needed advice, Aud started to ‘sleep through the night,’ (up for one feed around 11-12 p.m.). Oh, I couldn’t wait to tell everyone that she was finally sleeping well! Of course, I was quick to update my Facebook status, announce it on Twitter and call all my friends who have been hearing me ‘complain’ about it the last 6 months, and of course we had to celebrate with a glass of wine and some 5 year old Cheddar! Ahh, finally I get to go through more then one sleep cycle in a night!

It’s been about a month since we did the ‘sleep training’ and there’s been a bit of a set back. She has been waking up around 2-3 a.m. Sometimes she manages to fall back asleep, but other times she gets hysterical if I don’t go in, pick her up and shush her back to sleep.I ask Nanny Robina what could be the cause of this on CityLine airing August 15, 2011. So tune in to find out what she suggests! I’ll update this blog next week to let you all know how it’s going! 

2 responses to “Sleep, anyone?

  1. Nataliya says:

    setbacks are a part of fun! i’ve had so many sleep issues with my son, and every time i brag about some accomplishments, it gets back to a mess of falling asleep and not staying asleep. but i am persistent, stay on track, stay positive and just do what works. did you see my post in the ggm (goober gang mag)? since then, his sleeping routine was sliding down and down. but i know how to fix it, and i am working on it. that’s it!

    when he was falling asleep almost by himself, i would leave his room within 2 minutes after putting him in bed. i felt lonely and missed the whole big deal of calming him down, singing and rubbing his feet and head slightly. so there are positive and negative sides to everything. 🙂

    good luck with sleep training! and good luck with your blog, looking forward to reading more of it!

  2. […] This is when I met Nanny Robina. If you remember I talked about her in one of my first posts, (Sleep, Anyone?). I told her my story, and she suggested that we had to try again with the CIO. She was good at […]

Leave a Reply

Entertain Kids On A Dime

CHEAP FUN IN THE GTA

The Robert Munsch Public School Blog

Inspiring learning in the early years.

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Motherhood, WTF?

I'm the mom who makes you feel better about your parenting.

INTO MIND

personal style, minimalism & the perfect wardrobe

Life With a Baby Blog

Real Parents, Real Challenges, Real Help

LE ZOE MUSINGS

A Creative Lifestyle Blog KELLIE VAN

Almost Thirty-Something

Millennial. Blogger. Happy soul.

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

loving hearts, rough starts

for parents who had a rough start: share, support, validate and inspire

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

Grit & Honey

Women clothed in strength. Your story isn't over yet.

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Wine & Whines

Juggling it all

Stephania Parent

SUPER SOUL SUCCESS

Then there were 4

Keeping in touch with the Brownes

