New Mum on the Blog

Sharing is Caring! Experiences, insights, advice and tips from one mum to another

Pick ME!

on August 14, 2012

I’ve always taken pride in knowing that I’m the bubbly and positive one out of my friends and family, people enjoy being around me, and I know I have to exude that energy for Audrina. Ok, obviously I have my downer days like anyone else, but I try really hard in life to be that person most of the time. I will say the first couple months after having Aud I was finding it difficult to be myself. Just having this feeling that I didn’t really matter, no one cares what I look like, I’m not trying to impress anyone. Then there came a day when I had signed up for a “Mothergoose” class- bring your baby, learn nursery rhymes and meet other mom’s for a couple hours- and I felt like putting some effort into my appearance, do my hair, put a little makeup on. So while baby slept, that’s what I did. Wow, I had no idea a little primping could make me feel so…great.  Instead of doing the dishes or folding the laundry, I put myself first, and man it felt good.

I’m not saying to ignore your child if you’re not finished combing your hair, and I’m not saying you need to beautify yourself everyday to make yourself feel better, (come on I’m not that vain). I’m just saying put a little time aside for yourself. Have a shower longer than 5 minutes, make yourself a nice wrap and salad for lunch rather than picking at your kid’s unfinished meals, read that book that’s been sitting on your nightstand…or read my blog! But just do something that makes you happy. Makes you feel like you are a priority.

As I mentioned in on of my previous post, The Start of a New Lifestyle, I wasn’t new to the Weight Watchers scene. I knew it took time, a lot of planning, and ton’s of will power. Since I opted to do the Online WW program (did not attend any WW meetings) it’s was up to me how much time I would spend looking up recipes, making the recipes, and tracking every bit of food/drink that I consumed. I know, you’re thinking, time? I don’t even have time to shave my legs. This is where priorities come in. Even though my little girl is my main focus, I know that if I’m  not happy and confident in myself it would impact how we were raising her. If my relationship and I weren’t a priority, our family would suffer. No matter if you have 1, 2, or 4 kids you have to set aside time for yourself, you need ‘me’ time. Or your ‘me time’ is going to be like Charlotte from the Sex in the City movie; locking yourself in the pantry with red painted handprints all over your tush, having a small nervous breakdown, (it does happen). When I started to set aside this time for myself, it made it easier to be able to dedicate the time it took to do WW.

FYI: Now WW has an app for your phone that helps you track and look up recipes. What I loved about the app was it had access to lots of restaurant menus where if you needed to track a specific food such as something from Swiss Chalet, you were able to find it and calculate the points! They are also very good at categorizing what you are looking for. They have different tabs for recipes, portions, meal type, meals by number of points; lots of ways to help you make a variety of healthy diet choices. Once you get the hang of how to use the WW program it really cuts down on the time and planning because you get an idea of what you are looking for and where to find it.

WeightWatchers.ca

 

Please visit www.thebabyandchild.com to read up on valuable information and resources through pregnancy and beyond

One response to “Pick ME!

  1. […] know I have wrote about having ‘me time’ before so this is almost like a part 2. Go do something you love, or take something new up. […]

Leave a Reply

Entertain Kids On A Dime

CHEAP FUN IN THE GTA

The Robert Munsch Public School Blog

Inspiring learning in the early years.

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Motherhood, WTF?

I'm the mom who makes you feel better about your parenting.

INTO MIND

personal style, minimalism & the perfect wardrobe

Life With a Baby Blog

Real Parents, Real Challenges, Real Help

LE ZOE MUSINGS

A Creative Lifestyle Blog KELLIE VAN

Almost Thirty-Something

Millennial. Blogger. Happy soul.

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

loving hearts, rough starts

for parents who had a rough start: share, support, validate and inspire

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

Grit & Honey

Women clothed in strength. Your story isn't over yet.

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Wine & Whines

Juggling it all

Stephania Parent

SUPER SOUL SUCCESS

Then there were 4

Keeping in touch with the Brownes

