New Mum on the Blog

Sharing is Caring! Experiences, insights, advice and tips from one mum to another

Mummy Brain-GOOD NEWS!

on October 1, 2012

I have been M.I.A. this past week with my blogging because I have been swamped with first birthday party planning! On the weekend we had baby girl’s birthday parties. I say parties because yes, we had two. Since we live in an apartment it was completely unrealistic to think we would be able to have all our friends and family in one spot on one day. So we broke it up. We did her little friends on Saturday and the ‘grown ups’ on Sunday.  We also decided to have it the week before her actual big day because it falls on thanksgiving so we figured friends and family would be busy with their holiday plans. The turnouts were so amazing. We are so lucky to have such great people in our lives, and baby girl is so loved.

So you probably think I have tons of stuff to write about. This week I think I am going to focus on reminiscing about this past year. I mean this time last year I was hugely preggo, ready to pop, and so uncomfortable. I couldn’t even tell I had ankles, and Jon giggled at me every morning I literally rolled out of bed. It’s so funny how what they call ‘mom brain’ can prevent you from remembering where you put your sunglasses 5 minutes ago but you can remember exactly what you were doing this day a year ago.

 Seriously, anyone else having that problem? I have the worst memory these days. From calling someone back, to remembering how Jon likes his coffee after he’s told me 5 times, this mummy brain stuff can really get in the way. This is also why I have started to document everything. I literally carry around a notebook to write down things I think about so I don’t forget. Of course I forget I have the notebook or have written it down…so really it’s a lose-lose situation.

Mummy brain can mean doing things like putting the peanut butter with cleaning products or putting milk away in the tuberware cupboard-both of which I am guilty of. Just really spacing out on things that you normally wouldn’t. I often can be in the middle of a conversation and mid-sentence forgetting what we were talking about. It’s funny that I don’t even really have to explain myself when it happens, I just state, it’s the ‘mommy brain.”

So we can chalk up the mum brain to sleep deprivation, having a little person’s life is in your hands and remembering all the little details that go along with that. I can only imagine it gets worse as you have more kids and more things to remember like soccer practices, dance classes, lunches, school schedules, homework, parties, playdates, dinner…my brain is feeling like mush just thinking about it.

But there is some light to shed on this infamous ‘mommy brain’ syndrome we all suffer from. Being a mom actually makes you SMARTER! Really, seriously, it does. Think about it, although you may forget where you put your keys or that you left your coffee cup on the roof of your car-someone had to be thinking that when we have babies our brains need a little extra room for all that stuff, why wouldn’t be blessed with more smarts.

According to a Time article, the experiences we have picking up toys and singing nursery rhymes is actually stimulating our brains. Before baby I couldn’t finish the words to Mary had a little lamb and Twinkle twinkle. Now I probably know about 50 different songs, and rhymes and can recite most of her books without looking at the pages.

Katherine Ellison, a mother of two, wrote a book called ‘The Mommy Brain: How motherhood makes s smarter.” There is actual scientific evidence that being a mum smartens us up.

Here is bit of the article that stood out: “Craig Kinsley and Kelly Lambert, two Virginia neuroscientists who have done truly pioneering work, have dissected rats’ brains and found that during pregnancy there was a tremendous blossoming of what are called dendritic spines–the parts of the neurons that reach out and form synapses, necessary for new learning. Dr. Kinsley compares it to a computer acquiring extra bandwidth to help it run more than one program at a time. There has also been some intriguing recent research on the impacts of two hormones important to motherhood, oxytocin and prolactin, on mental functioning–specifically, learning and memory and the reduction of fear and anxiety.”

(Read more: http://www.time.com/time/magazine/article/0,9171,1053659,00.html#ixzz283bYCK8M)

Just try to remember this one little thing- although you may be constantly forgetting you have a load of laundry in the washer, or that you left your keys in the front door- no one else can say that because I am a mum my brain has a little extra room, basically we are all superwomen, so run with it.

 

Leave a Reply

Entertain Kids On A Dime

CHEAP FUN IN THE GTA

The Robert Munsch Public School Blog

Inspiring learning in the early years.

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Motherhood, WTF?

I'm the mom who makes you feel better about your parenting.

INTO MIND

personal style, minimalism & the perfect wardrobe

Life With a Baby Blog

Real Parents, Real Challenges, Real Help

Almost Thirty-Something

Millennial. Blogger. Happy soul.

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

loving hearts, rough starts

for parents who had a rough start: share, support, validate and inspire

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

Grit & Honey

Women clothed in strength. Your story isn't over yet.

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Wine & Whines

Juggling it all

Stephania Parent

SUPER SOUL SUCCESS

Then there were 4

Keeping in touch with the Brownes

