New Mum on the Blog

Sharing is Caring! Experiences, insights, advice and tips from one mum to another

October-National Anti Bullying Month

on October 4, 2012

Today I found out October is national anti-bullying month. Maybe I’m behind, but as soon as I heard I knew what I wanted to write about next. This post might be a little out of the ordinary, but if you follow me and my blog you probably know I like to throw in a little variety now and again.

When you think of a bully you might think back to when you were in grade or high school. You might think of that kid in your class who constantly picked on you because you wore braces, or those girls who snickered behind your back because you didn’t have the cool knapsack that they had. Fact is, if you were a victim of bullying (which I’m sure we all were at some point) you probably remember exactly what it was you were picked on for.

For me, I remember all the way back to when I was about 7 years old. My parents had moved us out to Florida for a couple years and we were so excited to be in the sunshine and oranges State. I have lot’s of great memories but a couple of sour ones stand out too.

At the ripe young age of 7 my legs were visibly hairy. Yup, I said it. Coming from Canada were parka’s and long johns are worn 6 months out of the year, it didn’t occur to my adolescent self that my hair growth would be a problem. I remember being teased on the bus because I had hairy legs. Really? Who teases a 7 year old about that? I would come home so upset and in tears almost every day.

Then one day my mom took matters into her own hands. She waited by the bus stop, I walked off and she walked on. She scolded the kids making fun of me; when we got home she shaved my legs. From that day on she would shave my legs for me every week until I could do it on my own.

This is just one memory I have of being bullied as a kid. I could tell you tons of stories. Stories that have stuck with me all my life, names that have haunted me ever since I was a little girl. I was never skinny, tall or super popular, the perfect recipe for disaster in school. Today I thank God that I wasn’t one of them because if I was I wouldn’t be the person I am today. The person I can say I am proud to be.

It’s funny how most of the time the ones who bullied and were mean are the ones who are alone and miserable. Karma, karma, karma.

I am terrified for the day when my daughter goes to school and comes home crying.  I will do anything in my power to prevent it from happening. The truth is as parents we can try to shield our kids from the schoolyard bully, but what happens if your kid becomes one of them. It is never too early to teach your child to love everyone. It is our duty to teach our kids to be kind, gentle, and friendly.

The sad thing is that it doesn’t end in the playground. It happens to everyone and anyone these days.  From kids name calling and hitting a school bus driver, to a news anchor receiving a nasty email about being overweight. It sickens me how today’s society treat each other.

As parents we have to teach our kids that it is not ok to name call, fight, or pick on someone because they are different. We have to teach them that in the end the bully loses and only ends up alone and miserable. Set an example, our kids hang onto every word and action we do so make the right choices and spread the word. STOP BULLYING!!!

 

Leave a Reply

Entertain Kids On A Dime

CHEAP FUN IN THE GTA

The Robert Munsch Public School Blog

Inspiring learning in the early years.

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Motherhood, WTF?

I'm the mom who makes you feel better about your parenting.

INTO MIND

personal style, minimalism & the perfect wardrobe

Life With a Baby Blog

Real Parents, Real Challenges, Real Help

LE ZOE MUSINGS

A Creative Lifestyle Blog KELLIE VAN

Almost Thirty-Something

Millennial. Blogger. Happy soul.

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

loving hearts, rough starts

for parents who had a rough start: share, support, validate and inspire

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

Grit & Honey

Women clothed in strength. Your story isn't over yet.

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Wine & Whines

Juggling it all

Stephania Parent

SUPER SOUL SUCCESS

Then there were 4

Keeping in touch with the Brownes

